South Australia’s Strategic Plan is comprised of 100 targets. These targets are specific and measurable and enable us to measure our progress towards achieving the Plan’s visions and goals.

Each target is reported on through this section of the website. Data is analysed and uploaded as it becomes available.


87. Reading, writing and numeracy:

By 2020, for reading, writing and numeracy, increase by five percentage points the proportion of South Australian students who achieve:

  • above the National Minimum Standard
  • higher proficiency bands

Key Measure


Explanatory Comments

National Minimum Standard

In 2015 the proportion of South Australian students above the reading, writing and numeracy, National Minimum Standard (NMS) in NAPLAN assessment, for years 3, 5, 7 and 9 has seen some improvements from the 2008 baseline and from the 2014 results. In 2015, Year 3 Reading, Year 5 Numeracy and Year 9 Numeracy all attained the target of a five percentage point increase since 2008.  Years 3 and 5 Writing both improved from 2014, while Year 7 Reading, Writing and Numeracy together with Year 9 Reading all had small improvements between 2014 and 2015.

Higher proficiency bands

For nearly all year levels the proportion of South Australian students in the NAPLAN higher proficiency bands, in reading, writing and numeracy has remained relatively static between years.  In 2015 Year 3 Reading has increased by the required five percentage points to meet the required target. No other years attained the target in 2015.  However, Year 3 and 7 Writing together with Year 5 Numeracy have all improved on the 2014 results.

The National Assessment Program—Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLaN) commenced in Australian schools in 2008. Students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9 are assessed annually using national tests in reading, writing, language conventions (spelling, grammar and punctuation) and numeracy. The results are reported on scales, indicating how students have performed compared to the ‘National Minimum Standard’ (NMS). The NAPLaN assessment scale is divided into ten bands. Band 2 is the minimum standard for Year 3, band 4 is the minimum standard for Year 5, band 5 is the minimum standard for Year 7 and band 6 is the minimum standard for Year 9. Students who are below their relative year level standard have not achieved the learning outcomes expected for the year level. They are considered to be at risk of being unable to progress satisfactorily at school without targeted intervention Students achieving above the NMS are those in the upper four bands for each year level. For the purposes of this SASP target, ‘higher proficiency bands’ are defined as the upper 2 bands in each year level.

Lead Agency

Department for Education and Child Development